Second bulletin – University of Copenhagen

Home > Bulletins > Second bulletin

Second bulletin, December 23, 2011

This is the second bulletin of the fourth biennial Rhetoric in Society Conference to be held January 15-18, 2013 at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark.

In this bulletin, we proudly announce the names of the three keynote speakers for the conference:

Michael Billig is Professor of Social Sciences at Loughborough University, UK. He has been a key figure in the use of classical rhetorical thinking in the context of social issues, notably in Arguing and Thinking: a Rhetorical Approach to Social Psychology (2nd Edition, 1996). The most recent of his several books is Laughter and Ridicule: Toward a Social Critique of Humour (2005).

Peter Dahlgren is Professor Emeritus of Media and Communication Studies at Lund University, Sweden. Among the books he has authored, edited or co-authored are Media and Political Engagement: Citizens, Communication, and Democracy (2009), Young Citizens and New Media: Learning for Democratic Participation (2007), and Television and the Public Sphere: Citizenship, Democracy and the Media (1995).

David Zarefsky is Professor Emeritus of Communication at Northwestern University, USA. One of America’s most respected rhetorical scholars, he is the author of six books and over 70 scholarly articles concerned with American public discourse, argumentation, rhetorical criticism, and public speaking. He is a past president of the National Communication Association and President of the Rhetoric Society of America.

We hope that you have an enjoyable holiday season with time for recreation and perhaps some reflection about a good topic to bring to the RiS4 conference.

In the upcoming bulletin, which you will receive in January 2012, we will provide information about how to submit a proposal. Please consult the conference website for details about the different types of proposals accepted. Deadline for proposals is March 1, 2012.

Please forward this bulletin and the email address to friends and colleagues you think would be interested in joining the mailing list of the RiS4 conference.

Happy New Year!

The conference planners

Mette Bengtsson, Mark Herron, Christian Kock, Rasmus Rønlev, and Lisa Villadsen